Myanmar keyword: Double Taxation Agreement ("DTA")

April 29, 2022

Myanmar has double taxation agreements (“DTAs”) in force with eight countries: the United Kingdom, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, India, the Republic of Korea, and Laos, with a number of other DTAs in the draft stage, including Indonesia and Bangladesh. Accordingly, the tax imposts may be reduced by any DTAs that are currently in effect. The […]

October 30, 2020

The Withholding Tax (“WHT”) regime is a mechanism to tax a non-resident for income derived from Myanmar. In the past, the definition of income derived from Myanmar included services performed both outside and inside Myanmar for Myanmar projects. Under Notification 47/2018, the Internal Revenue Department (“IRD”) has subsequently narrowed the interpretation to capture only services […]

July 31, 2017

Although many taxpayers think that the withholding tax (“WHT”) regime in Myanmar has only been in place since 2010, it has actually been on the books since the enactment of Income Tax Law in 1974. With the issuance of Notification 41/2010, a formal WHT regime began to be implemented in Myanmar. The WHT regime is […]